Skip to content

Year of Revisiting #2 – When Harry Met Sally

“The clock doesn’t really start to tick until you’re thirty-six.”

Can men and women be friends? I’ve seen When Harry Met Sally dozens of times and I still don’t get what the answer is supposed to be.

But I love this movie, about a long-simmering friendship that boils into love with some stops at hate and misunderstanding along the way. (I am not mixing metaphors: this is liquid that travels.) Despite the story’s sense of romance as a competitive sport (uck), I find Harry (Billy Crystal) and Sally (Meg Ryan) totally charming and their relationship fun and believable. They are able to be friends because both implicitly take the idea of dating off the table. Yet it is this easiness that allows their love to blossom—at which time the pressure is suddenly back on. Like most matters of the heart, it’s a catch-22 that doesn’t make much sense but is perfectly true.

Harry Connick, Jr.’s music is great, and the interludes telling stories about older couples meeting are some of the most touching I’ve seen.

Plus, that diner scene makes me LOL every time.

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. Paul S #

    Loved your post, my guilty pleasure is the romantic comedy and When Harry Met Sally… would definitely be in my top 10. It really is just one of my favourite movies ever.
    I don’t know just how many times I’ve seen it over the years, but I can keep watching it again and again.It’s one of those movies with a great soundtrack – Harry Connick Jr., along with the seasonal, gorgeous scenes of New York, Meg Ryan’s smile, Billy Crystal’s charm; and Carrie Fisher and Bruno Kirby are brilliant as their best friends.
    Great art is great because it reveals profound truths, so it is with When Harry Met Sally…

    January 10, 2016
    • jenheart #

      Totally agree, Paul! Carrie Fisher and Bruno Kirby are a treat in this too.

      January 13, 2016
  2. G.G. Andrew #

    I’ve been wanting to rewatch this for a few weeks! Glad it holds up…but kind of agree it doesn’t really answer the question! Did you see that Something New is instant?

    January 13, 2016
    • jenheart #

      I saw Something New is instant! (Though I think I already had the DVD :)) Let me know what you think if you watch WHMS again!

      January 13, 2016
  3. I thought this was a charming Rom Com with a great lead couple. Would appreciate it if you could check out my own 100 Word Review:
    http://scribblesofstageandscreen.com/2016/01/14/harry-meets-sally-in-100-words/

    January 16, 2016

Leave a Reply

