Skip to content

Year of Revisiting #5 – 10 Things I Hate About You

“Kissing isn’t what keeps me up to my elbows in placenta all day long.”

I love a good literary adaptation, and 10 Things I Hate About You is one of the best and also full of fun.  This movie takes Shakespeare’s essential plot and characters from The Taming of the Shrew and sets them in a California high school in 1999.  Like Clueless and Bridget Jones’s Diary, it draws just the right elements from the source material, in the correct amounts and best ways.

I enjoyed 10 Things a lot back in 1999 when, like Kat Stratford (Julia Stiles), I was a high school senior and a little disillusioned, though not quite so badass.   My affection for it has grown over the years.   The four main characters are all great, though some of the best parts involve the secondary cast. The English teacher Mr. Morgan (Daryl Mitchell) is hilarious, if profane, and I would have watched an entire movie based on his class.  Larry Miller perfectly captures a crazily overprotective, yet loving, father.  The nerdery of David Krumholtz and Susan May Pratt as the friends is charming.

Sadly, during my senior year, no one apologized for being a jerk to me by singing “I Love You Baby” from the bleachers, but months after we had broken up my ex-boyfriend did take me to a Bob Dylan concert.  I had fun but didn’t fall for the ploy to get us back together.  Maybe I’m more badass than Kat after all.

 

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. G.G. Andrew #

    Ha! I really need to revisit this too. I didn’t realize you’d seen Bob Dylan–I definitely need that story 🙂

    March 2, 2016

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Romance Trope Tuesday: Something’s Gotta Give | G. G. Andrew

Leave a Reply

