Skip to content

Year of Revisiting #12 – Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

“Next time there’s a ball, pluck up the courage and ask me before somebody else does, and not as a last resort!”

After reading Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, I wanted to revisit Goblet of Fire, the events of which figure prominently in Cursed Child.  The wrapping was still on the DVD so I had probably not seen it since the theater showing over 10 years ago.

Goblet starts at the Quidditch World Cup, which I suppose is the magical version of the soccer World Cup, which I never much cared about but reminded me a little of the Olympics, which were currently happening but which I wasn’t really watching either.  

There’re a lot of neat touches in this movie: yellow journalist Rita Skeeter and her self-writing Quick-Quotes Quill; the pomp and circumstance of the Triwizard Tournament; and, the most delightful, David Tennant aka Kilgrave, the embodiment of pure masculine evil and also a little bit hot in Jessica Jones, showing up at the end as Barty Crouch, Jr.  I may have gasped a little.

But the best was bookish, nerdy Hermione dressing up and dancing away with popular Quidditch player Viktor Krum, while Ron and Harry skulk around.  This story gets the awkwardness and urgency of all those teenage ~feelings~ just right.  Hermione’s telling off Ron for taking her for granted is, I believe, my favorite scene in the whole movie. 💃💪

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

