Skip to content

Love and Gravity, Part 2

“Better be without sense, than misapply it as you do.”
― Jane Austen

Readers may recall my anxiety over being set up with a guy not named Ken, and my relief when, as he reconciled with his ex-girlfriend, it turned out that nothing at all was required of me.

So, what’s up with Ken and the ex-ex-girlfriend now?  How did they bridge the baby gulf and find love again?

“Oh, I’m so glad you asked!” Sally, my friend who was playing matchmaker, said.  “He broke up with his girlfriend and moved out!”

Uh oh.

“I was not going to bring him up, but since you did …!”

And with that, Sally was back at it, planning for us to meet and giving her husband, Sam, information-gathering assignments.

This is what I get for having a mild interest in people other than myself.

Later, Sally texted me: “I asked Sam if Ken was a [idiotic political figure] supporter bc if so the deal’s off (my rule). Sam wasn’t sure but he doesn’t think he likes [idiotic political figure].”

Please be a [idiotic political figure] supporter was something I never thought I’d wish of anyone.

But Ken must have passed the politics litmus test because, a few days later, my phone dinged with a message from Sally: “Do you like cats?”

I suspected this was related to Ken.  What was the correct response?  If my opinion on cats was wanted, it must mean he likes cats and they are very important in his life, right?  Then again, if I responded, “Hate them!” and it turned out he loathed them …

In the end, I chose a middle-of-the-road answer that is essentially the truth:  “I don’t love cats but I’m not against them or anything.”

“Sam asked me if you like cats, like to travel, like trivia, and are sarcastic.  I said yes to everything except the cats.  I told him you’re not an animal person, but I will correct the record!”

“No, I’m definitely not an animal person!”  I typed back frantically.

(Once, back when I was first in the whole Ken mess but otherwise carried away by my usual flights of fancy, I offered up to Sally someone else in my life with the hope that his existence would foil the plans for Ken, which it did.  Temporarily.  The problem was that Sally then began asking me about him.  I don’t know if he would be amused and flattered, or something else entirely, at showing up in the story like this.  Perhaps sometime when we are together, I will tell him about how I tried to use an imagined romance with him to prevent a real romance with someone else, and maybe he will tell me that, actually, he doesn’t mind … not at all.)

Recently, Sally, Sam, and I were hanging out when Sally said to Sam, “Tell her the latest on Ken, Sam.  What’s up with the cat stuff?”  She eyeballed me.  “Jen’s not an animal lover.”

“I know he has a cat because he mentions stuff like taking it to the vet,” Sam said.  “He doesn’t have pictures of it on his desk or anything.”

“What about in his wallet?” Sally pressed.  “Sam, you need to find this out.”

It was about this time that I jumped up and said, “I should get going!  I’ve got to get to the library before it closes!”

Will Sally prevail and Ken and I finally meet?  Will Ken return to his ex-ex-ex-girlfriend?  And most importantly, does Ken carry pictures of his cat in his wallet?

Photo: Knots, November 2016

Save

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. G.G. Andrew #

    I feel like we need to meet Ken, if only for closure 🙂

    March 7, 2017
    • JenH #

      Ha! 🙂 🙂

      March 7, 2017

Leave a Reply

